Plotter

blayman

Has any one purchased a small (24") wide printer/plotter lately?

I started looking at the HP T120 or T520 both 24" plotters. I was wondering if anyone has any experience with either one?

Or any recommendations for a small plotter.

My HP 500 has finally given up, after many many cases of paper and ink cartridges.

I have number of ink cartridges available and an  HP500 not working if anyone is interested in it for parts?

Thanks

Bill Layman

MSI GE72 2QD Apache Pro Laptop

Chief 97 thru X10

I had the HP110 for years, which I think was the predecessor to the HP120. I loved it! I did not have the roll feeder, simply feed sheets through the rear as needed and let them fall into the catcher. I gave it up when I moved the office home, and no one was requesting prints much anyway, just PDFs. I now have an Epson that will do 11x17 and it works great.

I purchased the HP T120 a few years back.  I am a remodeling contractor and draft the plans I need for my own work, mainly kitchens, basements and additions,  so I cant speak to higher volume use, but it has been serving me quite well.  Definitely worth not having to go to Staples and paying $4-6 per Arch D page.  I keep the rear tray filled with 11x17 sheets, ad then also keep a 24" roll installed.  Loading and unloading the roll as needed.  I definitely recommend getting the stand.  Its wheeled and has a nice outfeed basket.  From what I can tell the T520 is essentially the same printer with slightly better resolution, little faster, and includes the stand.  Had I been able to afford it at the time I probably would have gone with it.  From all the information and reviews I read at the time I got mine it seems that HP made these printers specifically for the needs of the CAD/GIS market.  Most online reviews were from either architects or engineers.  One thing to watch for when shopping for either is shipping.  Its a pretty big box with some weight to it.  Some places may have a lower price, but hit you