Wood grain directions

BigKahuna

When putting wood shelves / polyline solid in a design I can use wood material and rotate the grain direction to run the length of a shelf as needed  by rotating the texture in materials... but the grain on the edge of the shelf runs vertical. Is there a way to make the grain go through the entire object  so the grain is realistic on the edge ?

Solver. Thanks  I first tried using convert to plain polyline as thats all I could find to use and it simply disappeared.  I then found the solid tools icon that I have never used before. So it works but as I am sure you are aware it then makes it more of a pain to copy or move around later if needed. It does the trick if one doesnt want to mess around with them much after exploding..  Would be nice if we could specify it to go all through the solid object.  Thanks again.

• Upvote 1

5 minutes ago, robdyck said:

One can also use a general framing member for this application. Framing members wrap wood grain correctly automatically. Adjust schedule controls as needed and same with layers and labels.

Thanks Rob,  I will look into that.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, BigKahuna said:

When putting wood shelves / polyline solid in a design I can use wood material and rotate the grain direction to run the length of a shelf as needed  by rotating the texture in materials... but the grain on the edge of the shelf runs vertical. Is there a way to make the grain go through the entire object  so the grain is realistic on the edge ?

You know what else will apply the wood grain correctly is the Shelf tool.  Also a lot faster when building a shelf.

image.thumb.png.5a1a54c5db75788bd4cb69729d29cca9.png

• Like 2
  • Upvote 2

1 hour ago, raltd9245 said:

a great solution for a MATURE Program!!!!!!!!