Considering Chief Architect

ragetoca

Hello CA users,

My name is Raul, I am a residential designer who manages an architectural department for a semi-custom builder (140 homes a year). We use Autocad Architecture for our house plans (I have been a long time Autodesk user). We are paying $5100 a year for 3 licenses, my frustration is they they have not done any major upgrades or new features in like 12 years, we are definitely moving away because it lacks the tools we need for residential design/ drawing production.

Over the past 2 months, I downloaded demo/ trials of other software platforms: Revit, Archicad, Softplan, vertex, Envisioneer, Vectorworks, and Chief Architect. Out or all of these I liked archicad and CA but heavely leaning towards CA because of the purchase price and the yearly subscription cost, CA seems to be the best option for us.

Now my question is this: Will CA be a good fit for a production builder like us? We build 3 tiers of homes: 1) production/cookie cutter homes in the $200-400's 2) semi-custom homes in the $400-600's and our high end product $600's to over a million dls. We make A LOT OF CHANGES to our houses, we work from a "baseplan" file system and then we create lot specific plans.

The only thing that concerns me a bit is the whole layout / printing process. I wish it was as easy as archicad where the program is building the sheets automatically etc.

Anyways, I would like to hear comments from users who might be in a similar situation as me. Thank you for your time.

Raul T