New To Online Drawing - Need Advice

kblack64

I am new to Chief Architect and in fact new to all things CAD. I have been plugging through the videos and the User's Guide but I am having one heck of a time catching on. When I follow the directions, and something goes awry I do not know the best to look. There is almost too much information. 

Any suggestions on the best path to follow for a complete newbie. I need to start feeling some small successes soon instead of feeling completely lost. 

I tried the 4 part introductory series. Now I am between the users 'guide and the overview video. Need to find a way to learn, accomplish, build on knowledge. Feeling scattered in the approach of using the videos. 

Help? 

KBlack64,

Welcome to Chief Architect and the User's Forum!

You didn't mention your construction experience. Have you been drawing construction doc.'s by hand? Are you mostly interested in kitchens, baths ans interiors?

Please also take a minute and describe your computer system and your location in your signature. This may help locate an experienced user near you. 

I'd suggest either attending a live seminar, or getting 1 on 1 training through Chief Architect.

You'll find most everyone on this forum wants you to be successful! We welcome you and know that before long, you'll have the hang of things.

As one of our past Presidents said "I feel your pain".

Chief is in fact a complex piece of software - mainly because it is so capable and construction is complicated with thousands of choices to be made during the design process.  No one is going to be an expert very quickly.  Some of us did it the hard way - by just plugging away and banging our heads against the wall way too many times.

Get whatever training assistance you can afford and be patient - you will get there.