New User - What should I focus on first?

DRFDesigns

I'm getting close pulling the trigger and purchasing Chief X7.

I've been reading many of the topics and posts on the forum and I've watched most all of the overview/training videos.

I've been designing residential homes for about 20 years, almost exclusively in AutoCad Architectural.

I'm curious, based on your use of CA, what areas of the program should I focus on and learn first so I have a good foundation?

From what I've read so far getting familiar with the preferences and defaults is a must.  It seems like layer sets and annotation sets is a must also.

What other areas would you recommend?

Thanks in advance!

Dennis

.......From what I've read so far getting familiar with the preferences and defaults is a must.  It seems like layer sets and annotation sets is a must also.

Boy oh boy,  you nailed it,   you will be good,  also learn about ref sets  (IOW the MRLS).

Give yourself enough lead time on projects concerning deadlines.  I've been stuck many many times and had deadlines missed since I didn't account for getting as stuck as I did.  Obviously every time you get stuck you learn how to get through the process, and the people on this forum have been beyond awesome in their help.

Also, one thing that I am still trying to nail down is what object/type to use for what circumstance - and more specifically what view you need to start it in.  If you draw say a poly 3d shape in one view, you end up restricting the ability to edit that shape in different views and so must return to the view you created to perform certain actions.  Different tools have different rules, and coming from software that doesn't have that restriction was a real bugaboo for me.

Lastly, dont approach CA with logic thats often present in other apps.  CA has its own rules, and its own ways of doing things.