Ultimate Desktop

limitless8

Hey Everybody!

I'm new to the forum, and looking for some help.. I'm also new to CA..about 4 months...I used to create designs by hand, was taught by a famous architect from NY who still works today only by hand...I decided to switch to computer design...So far my learning with CA has been quite good, getting the results I more or less need.

Currently I'm running an Alienware M17xR3 with win 8.1 (it's a win7 pro laptop but I decided to upgrade.)  specs are as follows:

i7-2760qm 2.4Ghz

16gb of DDR3 ram.

HD Radeon 6990 2gb

1.5TB Sata.

Full Hd screen.

Sorry don't remember by heart the rest of the specs.  So this laptop does a good job, though I encounter issues sometimes, not sure if it's because of the laptop or the settings.  The most common issue I find is when generating 3d views, the optimizations on feature turns off....and regardless how many times I close the view and turn it back on, it screws up again...Maybe because I run it on win 8.1, and the laptop ultimately should work on win7 pro, than again what happened was when installing on win7, CA never loaded, always said folders were missing, while in 8.1 they installed right.

So I decided for full-time work I want to put together a desktop, the ultimate machine that will do it right and fast.

My budget is $4,000 for it, including screen(s).  The laptop I'll keep for home use of CA, meaning after work tweaks n so on.  

I would highly appreciate any and all help!  Thanks in advance!

here is one example for a machine:

Intel i7 4790k 4.0Ghz LGA1150 haswell

Intel Z97 GIGABYTE Z97X-Gaming 7

32 Гб at 2400mhz 

Nvidia GTX 980 4gb 

256ssd  520mbs

2000gb sata 3

bluray

7.1 surround sound

750w power

120mm vent

as for the case thermaltake or X strike.

price: 2220$

OR

AMD FX 8350  at 4.0ghz

amd 970 chipset 

32gb at 1600mhz

120gb ssd

500gb sata

gtx 980 4gb 

Zalman Z9 Black - 750W miditower

price : 1669$