Accurate creation of 2d details and 3D objects

modaby

Hello everyone.  I could use your insight....

I am new to Chief, learning X11 Premium.  I've been running various CAD and 3D modeling programs for 20+ years (AutoCAD, AutoCAD Architectural Desktop, Sketchup) for my residential design firm. 

Most recently, I've been using Sketchup and Layout exclusively to create design and construction drawings for custom homes and extensive remodels.  The lack of parametric objects (walls, windows, doors, floors, roofs, etc.) and automated drafting functions (automatic schedules, automatic dimensions, etc) in Sketchup/Layout has me trying to switch over to Chief.

I'm struggling with some of the basic functions of Chief on my first go at a project: 

There doesn't seem to be easily accessible accuracy when creating 2d details or 3d objects in Chief.

In all of the tutorials for creating 2D details, everyone seems to be mostly dragging the grips of shapes around willy nilly without a lot of concern for accurate dimensions. 

Having to Tab to insert accurate fractional dimensions for even only simple rectangular shapes. 

The temporary dimensions do more of getting in the way than helping when drawing small objects such as a molding profile. 

Why can't I type the dimension of the length of a lines WHILE I'm drawing a polyline shape? 

These same issues are even more apparent when trying to create 3D objects.  I have heard a lot of "It's hard to draw these objects in Chief"  and " just move it ABOUT where it should be"  when watching video tutorials.  I need better than ABOUT with the accuracy of these things. 

Even of the Chief tutorial of creating CAD details, the creation of the keyway in the concrete footing has no regard for actual dimensioned size.  https://www.chiefarchitect.com/videos/watch/5477/adding-cad-details.html