Position of top molding

marlem2000

Hi, everyone:)

First of all, I am a new user in the forum and a beginner with Chief Architect Premier X12. I’m Spanish so I need to say I’m sorry for my bad English.:unsure: I’m still learning all the technical stuff related to the world of architecture so everything is becoming hard for me.

I’m totally fascinated for interior design but my knowledge is very limited and I’d like learning the basics.

Today I was practicing with moldings. I’d love making what you can see in the picture but I can’t find a way. As you can see, the top molding in the curtains is not in the same position than the one in the rest of the room.

Again, sorry for my English and many thanks! :)

disneyland-hotel-30.jpg

To expand on what Glenn suggested, if moldings are specified in Floor or Room Defaults, then they're essentially part of the room.

Select a room and press the Make Room Molding Polyline tool:

image.png.fbcc12e1921c17a7fab91aaa7397e111.png

This will allow you to either make a new Blank Molding polyline around the perimeter of that room OR convert an existing molding polyline defined in that room, converting it into a separate polyline that you can modify freely.

image.png.79a788a4af899dc98712351ec2ae04c9.png

• Upvote 1

Many thanks for all the help! :)I’ve been following the steps of Garybills but the result is a bit disaster in my case.:unsure:

I’ve been reading this tutorial about 3d molding polylines.

This is what I did:

I go to Build> Primitive> Polyline Solid and draw manually the Polyline I want to create.

Then I Convert the Polyline Solid to Plain Polyline.

In the Convert Polyline dialog, I choose the 3D Molding Polyline.

In the 3D Molding Polyline Specification dialog which opens next, I click on the Moldings panel and replace the previously created Polyline by the molding I want to use with the curtains.

And… well… it seems there are many mistakes but something is something.:D

preview.jpg

preview2.jpg