Plan Views in Layout Default to the Same Floor


Sunnyfields
 Share

Recommended Posts

I am doing a remodel and have created a separate existing building file and am using it as an underlay to show where walls are being removed: image.thumb.png.b9e83894338949f123703f4c6594cefe.png

BUT, when I export the views to layout, they all default to the last view I export. Here I export the first floor:

image.thumb.png.9729e6f9dcba45ec6bc68b02b715dc07.png

So far so good. Here are the settings:

image.thumb.png.41784c2d4e54e03f17437a9f2ed843c1.png

Then it all goes awry. This is what happens when I export the second floor:

image.thumb.png.05e27bb26824e19477b9c4d2adf54b51.png

And now the third...

image.thumb.png.c4c817e26427d752a13190c3132f01ca.png

This only happens with this one plan. Could using the plan reference be messing things up? Has anyone seen this before? 

 

 

Chief Premier X12

Intel Core i9-10885H CPU @ 2.40GHz

64.0 GB RAM

64 Bit OS x64 based processor

Windows 10 Pro

 

 

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Saved Plan Views should exist for each floor.  If you change floors while in a Saved Plan View you have changed that view.  In fact any changes you make to a "Saved Plan View" will be shown in the Layout where that view has been sent.  So create a new "Saved Plan View" for each floor and each building discipline.

 

Then make sure you have the correct "Saved Plan View" active when you send to Layout.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

From your description it sounds like you are sending views to layout that are linked to a Saved Plan View.  If you change anything associated with the Saved Plan View, such as the active layer set or the current floor, then this can affect your layout views.  If you send multiple views to layout all linked to the same Saved Plan View, then they will all update any time you change something.

 

Here are some ways to solve your problems:

 

    - You can stop using saved plan views by switching your Saved Plan View Control that appears in the default toolbar to "None".  You can also do this in your default template so that new plans won't start in a saved plan view.

 

   - If you are using X12, you can decide whether or not you want your layout box linked to a Saved Plan View in the Send to Layout dialog box.  Just make sure the "Link Saved Plan View (name)" box is unchecked when you are sending.

 

    - You can unlink a layout box from a saved plan view by opening the Layout Box Specification dialog and setting the Linked Saved Plan View combo box to "None".  There is also an edit toolbar button that will allow you to link or unlink a layout box from a saved plan view.

 

    - You can learn how to use Saved Plan Views.  If you use a different saved plan view for each layout view, you won't have to worry about accidentally changing them.  Saved Plan Views can greatly improve your productivity so that you can just switch views instead of having to change lots of settings all the time.

 

More information about Saved Plan Views can be found in the reference manual or in this video:

 

https://www.chiefarchitect.com/videos/watch/2421/saved-plan-views.html?playlist=100

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

15 hours ago, Dermot said:

Here are some ways to solve your problems:

 

    - You can stop using saved plan views by switching your Saved Plan View Control that appears in the default toolbar to "None".  You can also do this in your default template so that new plans won't start in a saved plan view.

 

   - If you are using X12, you can decide whether or not you want your layout box linked to a Saved Plan View in the Send to Layout dialog box.  Just make sure the "Link Saved Plan View (name)" box is unchecked when you are sending.

 

    - You can unlink a layout box from a saved plan view by opening the Layout Box Specification dialog and setting the Linked Saved Plan View combo box to "None".  There is also an edit toolbar button that will allow you to link or unlink a layout box from a saved plan view.

 

    - You can learn how to use Saved Plan Views.  If you use a different saved plan view for each layout view, you won't have to worry about accidentally changing them.  Saved Plan Views can greatly improve your productivity so that you can just switch views instead of having to change lots of settings all the time.

 

to add to Dermot's list, you can also:

- Set your Plan View to Use Any Floor

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I think the "use any floor" is a great option for someone that already knows how to use saved plan views.  For people that don't, they will still have problems as soon as they change any of the other settings tied to saved plan views such as layer sets or reference display.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

17 hours ago, Dermot said:

- You can stop using saved plan views

 

- If you are using X12, you can decide whether or not you want your layout box linked to a Saved Plan View in the Send to Layout dialog box

 

- You can unlink a layout box from a saved plan view

 

- You can learn how to use Saved Plan Views

 

Haha, the last suggestion is the only good one :D

  • Upvote 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now
 Share

  • Member Statistics

    30693
    Total Members
    9156
    Most Online
    mikedanderton
    Newest Member
    mikedanderton
    Joined
  • Similar Content

    • By cjanderson66
      my address has changed and I want to update the existing layout sheets with a new template. How do I go about doing so?  Anybody got any ideas of how to make this change.
    • By kylejmarsh
      Have some pre-set cameras in my template for basic b/w exterior linework views that then sync to the .layout file cover sheet  - which is great in theory but my cameras don't seem to want to behave:
       

       
      Of course sending to layout as an 'image' solves this - but I wonder why the cropping changes when using the live camera?
       
      I tried a second camera view and it seemed to work more closely to how you would expect. Nearly identical cropping on these two:
       


       
      Kyle
       
    • By Ange822
      Hello,
       
      I am having issues with using the "active views" on Sheet Layouts. I just recently found this and thought it would save me a lot of time.
       
      What I'm having an issue with:
      1. It seems to be very slow, but I'm not sure if that's because of the file size? Or because I know have a bunch of Active Views for both Exterior and Interior 3D views?
      2. After sending an active view to the layout sheet, It works great until I "File Save as" a new file (when I have to make changes to a design). When I go to "Relink File" and "Update View", it re sizes the image back to the original size, so I then have to resize / zoom the image back in large to fit onto the Layout.
       
      Any ideas on how to keep the active image resized and only have to relink / update the view?
       
      I have attached some Images to help explain.
       
      thanks in advance,
      Angela 



    • By Alaskachris
      I am looking for someone to draft a complete set of plans for my small 1 1/2 story house. I have Chief Architect Home Designer Pro and the plans are already drawn up. The only thing that needs a little help is the roof (11/12 pitch) with a dormer (6/12 pitch). I'll need elevation plans, floor plan, foundation plan, floor framing plan, roof framing plan, wall cross-section, electrical plans that I've already done. I can't attach the Chief Architect File because it's too big but these will give you an idea of the project. Could you quote me a price and timeline?

      Warren Street Home fl. 2.pdf
      Warren Street Home.pdf
    • By woodcraftdesign
      using live camera views in layout, how do I change the size of these in the layout sheet.  I would like my renderings to measure 12" wide but I cannot change the size. Probly just an oversight on my part.