Trying to figure out lighting in X13

bdillard

Go to solution Solved by joey_martin,

Hello,

The standard render vs. world is radically different and so is ray trace.   

I'm no expert but I think the first view would be somewhat correct in the amound of light. I have 10 300 lumen recessed lights, 1 250 lumen chandelier and some amount of light - not much coming in from the outside - I set it for a late dusk.

Standard

Capturea.thumb.JPG.decb35d259fe34ec8a257926b2e80878.JPG

Physically based seems a little dark and a slight blue gray.

Capture.JPG

And Ray trace seems very dark.

Capture2.JPG

Also I notice that the under counter lights sometimes cast down a good amount of light and sometimes they barely show any light being emitted.   Sometimes if you let Ray Trace render longer (if you don't have a RT capable video card the lighting for ray trace under counters gets a little better but the overall picture seems dark even if you let it cycle for half a day.  However Physically based and Standard may or may not cast light even if you let them sit.

I can adjust some things to make it a little better but I'd like a lot more continuity between renders without making adjustments each time.

• Solution

I think PBR has a limit if 8 lights by default. You have exceeded that number which is why the other under-counter lights are not on. Increase the number of lights to 40 and they will be on.

Try this video for some settings and ideas. 

https://www.chiefarchitect.com/videos/watch/6155/clay-rendering-real-time-ray-tracing.html?playlist=102

BTW, my current graphics card (Nvidia GTX 750 Ti) also doesn't support real time raytrace, but the setting helped me get to PBR rendering I am sharing here. 

Kitchen.png

• Like 1

Thanks - I had it set at 20.    I switched it to 40  - no improvement.  I'll watch the video again.  I appreciate it.