Save Plan As Template Behavior


Recommended Posts

Never understood this behavior. I make a couple changes to my template plan and want to overwrite the existing template. Select File>Templates>Save as Template. Uncheck the delete all check box, check the Set Template as Default for Imperial Plans, click OK and Chief creates a new untitled plan. Why? Same behavior in X13.

 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, GeneDavis said:

Did your template plan get updated?

Yeah it works great to update the template plan and both plans are identical as is expected since the new template is based on the changes to the existing template but there's another plan created. Curious and might be missing something. 

Link to post
Share on other sites

This is one of many little things that have always bugged me. Should be a preference setting to toggle this behavior.

 

Make a suggestion :)

Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, solver said:

This is one of many little things that have always bugged me. Should be a preference setting to toggle this behavior.

 

Make a suggestion :)

"...many little things that have always bugged me." Yeah same here. May make time for a suggestion, and yes am willing to live with the behavior instead of dealing with the (for me) uber frustrating suggestion forum. Thanks Eric

Link to post
Share on other sites

I suspect that the "new" plan is using the new template definition - but the older plan is using the prior template.  If both templates are the same then it probably doesn't matter.  However, if anything was changed - which I think would be the case - then you might want to use the new plan.

 

Since the programmers don't know which we might want ......:unsure:

Link to post
Share on other sites
12 minutes ago, Joe_Carrick said:

I suspect that the "new" plan is using the new template definition - but the older plan is using the prior template.  If both templates are the same then it probably doesn't matter.  However, if anything was changed - which I think would be the case - then you might want to use the new plan.

 

Since the programmers don't know which we might want ......:unsure:

Could be, but I would rather there not be new plan opened without some explanation, obvious reason, or my expressed request. In the example both plans are identical as that's the nature of a new template created from an existing plan but the programmer sometimes have a reason that I often miss and perhaps you're correct in your assumption and I'll live with that for now. Thanks

Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Chrisb222 said:

I just close the new file

 

How can something so simple be that frustrating??

 

I never even gave it a thought

 

Very easy to just close. Just a niggler and simple curiosity.

Link to post
Share on other sites

i wondered the same thing and the for first couple times, I then saved the new untitled file as a template again, as I thought maybe it was showing me what it would look like

 

The title is Save as template. If CA is going to create a new plan, the title should be "Save as template & create new plan"

 

of course everyone would be asking for where is the "save as template", but a t least there would be less confusion over the actual function.

 

This is the $5 solution

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now
  • Member Statistics

    29842
    Total Members
    9156
    Most Online
    jcobbinhi
    Newest Member
    jcobbinhi
    Joined