tdroes82

Using layers for quick changes in plan

I am a builder, who uses Chief for house plans in Subdivisions. These are possible options that we show potential customers.

My overall question is not necessarily a simple one:

1. Can layers in Chief handle modifications to a "spec" plan top to bottom?

Example: We have a spec plan with (1) 16'x7' overhead garage door. But we also have an option to have (2) 9'x7' doors. To make this change, the garage has to be widened by 4' lets say. Can a plan be set up to turn on/off the needed layers and everything updates? This option would have a layout showing it. A customer could decide they want this options, and I can make the change to the plan quickly, and be ready to submit plan for building permit.

All these things must change:

- foundation, framed walls, roofs, windows/ doors may move, schedules update, dimensions update, .layout updates, 3D updates, etc.

2. If this is possible, what about Front Elevations? Can there be 1 plan, with layers on/off for "gable front", and "hip front"?

3. Are 2+ (separate plans) needed for these changes. I am spending too much time modifying my plans. Example: Plan 1 is gable front with normal garage. Plan 2 is hip front with larger garage., etc. I have 10 plans for the same house.

4. If what I am after is possible, is there anyone reading who is capable of completing this, and that I can hire to create a plan for me? This is not something I know how to do.

I can not find any topics on this. If there are any, pass them to me please.

Thomas

It can handle basic, non-conflicting items.  Some things will not work so great.  For instance, you can place two different kitchen cabinet layouts on the same plan with the cabs assigned to different layers.  If the two versions have a spot where sinks overlap, it will not display properly.  If the various options are pretty involved, you might be better to have two separate plans.