AUTO CAD VS CHIEF

pazzfam

probably should be in seeking services. Never used auto cad. I only know chief (50% at that)_ and I am a builder. Have client that I am building She wanted some changes and needed fast .The architect told her three weeks. So I said i would try.

I imported into chief and realized I could make changes in chief. It was completely different than how we draw individual plans not layered separate drawings for elect foundation ect.

The I was trying to dimension but it was slow dragging feeling. really slow so I  called chief and they tried to help, told me to turn what you dimension to off ect. 

Si I bought auto cad for a month stupid idea could not figure anything out.   I am trying to move the center of the house 4 ft in a unit so I group selected and it worked in auot cad do you have to do each drawing 

O if anyone wanted to do a rush rush job I would send

Adam

Chief does NOT run slow, even with built in intel video [i do not recommend].

I like Autocad [archicad/RevIt], but nothing is faster to model as Chief Architect. (residential structures)

If it runs slow on your computer check if the computer is infected, has multiple anti-virus products installed. 

And watch a video.

P.S. Never start modeling by placing immediately after the walls countless furniture, plans, terrain features, fixtures, lights.

Get your model completed first  

Did not explain myself I do not have a problem running chief I have a problem when I imported a complete auto cad file and tried to modify

so everything is in  cad /  lines ect  and it is impossible to dimension  not sure why

I tried cad detail window did not help

The problem when I imported a complete auto cad file or plan It is completely different from what i know in chief. Everything is an individual plan eclectic mechanical foundation ect. not layers