GeneDavis

Use for "Keep Deck Framing After Deck Room Is Deleted?"

Recommended Posts

By deleting the room I presume one removes on of its walls that keep it closed, or just disattach one enough to break the room-wall polyline.

 

What circumstances might there be for one to use this option?  If your deck is to have Chief-generated railings, I cannot see this in play unless doing the wall disattachment works, as for example, a deck with stairs to ground, and the wall for the stairs opening not continuing through with a doorway.

 

But if you wish to use this option, don't you then have to use CAD to show the extents of decks in plan views?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think it is there so if you have done a lot of manual changes to the Deck Framing you don't lose those if you need to rebuild it for some reason.

 

M.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

But if you check that option, you retain the framing even if you don't delete the room.

 

I guess I'm asking why would you want to keep all planking, framing, posts, and piers and have no deck "room."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It seems to be a safety feature as Mick says to prevent the loss or automatic rebuild of manual framing.  Just like "Retain Wall Framing" but it is all linked to the room definition which can easily be broken when editing tricky details.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are many reasons, but the main 2 that come to mind:

 

1.  As a safety feature as has already been mentioned.  It's easy to adjust a bunch of things and then accidentally break the room definition and lose all your changes.  This is one of the main reasons.

2.  The tool can be used to produce a vast array of different framing configurations without our having to be tied down by room definitions.  We can use this functionality to create;

-decks stacked on top of decks (multiple tiers placed however you want them all created with deck framing)

-decks with pergolas/trellis/lattice work above (all objects being created independently with deck framing)

-decks with surface mounted posts/newels (frame deck with deck room and then drop floor and don't frame deck at all)

-etc.

 

Just think of it as a different tool entirely when you use that setting.  Its a deck framing tool that just happens to use a room definition temporarily.  The key though is that if you're using it as a deck framing tool then you also need to remember to turn off Automatically Regenerate deck framing when appropriate.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes It's somewhat of an annoying feature, but it's also somewhat of a lifesaver.

 

There tends to be so much manual editing of the deck framing to get something that approaches reality that it is a real bummer to lose it (there are a few other threads about deck framing so I wont go into it here). But the problem is if you change the wall the deck is attached to, then your framing is wrong and then if it auto-regenerates, the old framing is still there so you've got to go through and manually delete it.

 

There should be a third option, or a sub-option for what to delete when rebuilding the deck. something like 'auto-delete previous deck framing even when manually edited' or 'keep manually edited objects when re-framing' - the second item would be more like how the auto roof-planes system works

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now

  • Member Statistics

    27366
    Total Members
    6254
    Most Online
    Chiefkebo
    Newest Member
    Chiefkebo
    Joined