RobersonConstruc

Just Started Using Chief Architect.

Any One With Suggestions:

I just started working for a construction company, I am the drafter/estimator. I have never used Chief Architect before. Any tips or suggestions would be a great help. I am watching the tutorials. I have drawn a floor plan so far. From the tutorials I see there are a lot options and possibilities. I will start with something simple. Is there a way to trim a wall up to another wall? Anything anyone can help me with would be greatly appreciated. Have a great day.

3 minutes ago, RobersonConstruc said:

I will start with something simple. Is there a way to trim a wall up to another wall?

What is "trim a wall up to another wall"?

Also a good idea to fill out your signature (see mine for an example) by clicking on your user name at the top right of the page, click Account Settings, then Signature on the left. The Chief version -- X9, X10 etc is key, other info is always helpful.

I would look into the video tutorials on Chieftutor.com   (Paid, but inexpensive.) David does a very good job of getting you up to speed quickly. Then, I think, you can work your way through the Chiefarchitect.com tutorials for completeness. 

Another site you might look at is ChiefExperts.com, I have been using Chief for awhile and belong to both of those groups, well worth it

If you have a solid knowledge of constitution and structural design CA is a great tool to generate your drawings and client presentations.

Once you work your way through the training as mentioned above I think you will see that creating designs and CD's comes fairly smoothly.

That said there is always more to learn no matter how long we have been at it ;)

Number one: Carefully read the "Users Guide" found under the "Help Menu", You do not build a structure exactly following the procedure you commonly use in the field

Number two: watch the following video series by Dan Bauman on You Tube: