DBearss

new cursor roof icon

Recommended Posts

Curious as to how to find out what this is trying to tell me.

capture-20170926-162702.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

you can probably find it in the manual

 

I don't know what it represents - except you have a task that Chief thinks needs to be done

 

Lew

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ct1.thumb.jpg.c89742171617413533e3890da4defbf4.jpg

 

Rebuilding Walls, Floors and Ceilings
When you make a change to the walls or to the floor or ceiling platforms in your plan, they may not immediately resize or move in the 3D model. The program does detect such changes, though, and the next time you generate a 3D or section/elevation view, walls, floors and ceilings are rebuilt.
By default, walls, floors and ceilings are also rebuilt when an automatic roof is generated. See Build Roof Dialog.
You can direct the program to rebuild walls, floors, and ceilings at any time by selecting Build> Floor> Rebuild Walls/Floors/Ceilings .
If you do not want the program to rebuild walls, floors and ceilings when a 3D view is created, uncheck Auto Rebuild Floors and Ceilings in the 3D View Defaults dialog. This may speed up plan view editing for very large plans. When this is unchecked and the structure is not up to date, the Rebuild Walls, Floors, Ceilings  icon displays near your mouse pointer. See Options Panel.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So I did make some changes to my roof planes which probably triggered the cursor. After Rebuild Walls/Floors/Ceilings its still there. Any way to pinpoint what needs to be resolved?

Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's going to come back any time you make a change that causes the walls, floors and ceilings to be invalid.  This includes modifying any walls, rooms, ceilings, roofs, or anything else that modifies one of them because it is attached to it in some way.  Basically, it will come back on anytime you change almost anything.

 

You can make it go away and stay away by turning on Auto Rebuild Walls/Floors/Ceilings in your 3D View Defaults dialog.

 

Was there some reason that you turned it off to begin with?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think F12 does Rebuild Walls/Floors/Ceilings .

 

I used to hit it often when in design mode and moving stuff around

 

Lew

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

David,  Does that annoying icon go away if you turn off "Behavior Inidicators" in Preferences> Behaviors> Edit Type ?   And then just use F12 to update when you want to as Lew suggested.  Then you still have the speed advantage with Auto Rebuild Off.

 

As per Dermot's comments below I should have said that these are very advanced settings that should only be used carefully in extreme situations where you are forcing the software to do something it was not intended to do.  And you should always remember to reset those settings when you are finished with them.

Edited by Chopsaw

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To be honest, I have never worked with auto rebuild turned off and would never encourage anyone to. 

 

I would also be surprised if turning this off really made much of a difference in speed.  Chances are that if you are experiencing slow downs with a particular plan that turning this off will not make much of a difference.  You may want to look more into what is slowing down your plan instead.

 

The bottom line is that if you are going to work with it off, you should get used to the icon.  All it's doing is telling you that you need to do a BFC which you can do manually anytime you want to make sure the model is up to date.

 

I would also recommend that you never turn off your behavior indicators.  If you do, you will miss all of the useful things that the program will tell you which can avoid lots of confusion. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I will have to experiment with leaving it on. And recently I believe you are correct that there may be some other issue with speed as I have recently started to get an occasional blue screen of death.

BTW I closed that project to work on another. Opening it back up again the cursor is gone.

Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

my worry with the auto-rebuild features is if manual work has been done

 

I wouldn't want that wiped out

 

is there a way to protect manual work ?

 

Lew

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think you will find that Chief will do an auto rebuild when it opens the plan.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now

  • Member Statistics

    27499
    Total Members
    6254
    Most Online
    Bren0625
    Newest Member
    Bren0625
    Joined