PitMan71

Members
  • Posts

    671
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by PitMan71

  1. Yes. I updated CA when it came out and finally got around to checking that issue yesterday. Thanks!
  2. I never knew that was there. I have always just used the diamond handle.
  3. Do you mean the diamond? If that is what you are referring to, i checked and its still there.
  4. I adjusted the X axis for 2d and 3d. It adjusted it but the dimensions centerlines aren't to the center of the column which is confusing since they weren't there before the adjustment. It seems that there is some kind of relationship issue when using a symbol with a bounding box as a newel/column. I am going to notify support to see if they have any insight of what the heck is going on.
  5. Hey everyone, I created a custom square column to use as a newel post. It has a Tuscan cap and base with an ogee ring about 10" down from the top. The overall column is wider at the cap/base, but the actual shaft is 10" square. After creating the symbol, I adjusted the bounding box 1-1/2" in from each side so the bounding box represents the 10" shaft rather than the overall width. This works great for resizing because it adjusts based on the shaft instead of compressing the entire column. The problem comes when I use the symbol as a newel post in a railing (post to beam). The column appears to be offset in the "X" coordinate by approximately the same 1-1/2" that I adjusted the bounding box. When I select the newel, its centerline is slightly off compared to a standard square column used as a newel. If I reset the bounding box to the full extents of the symbol, the column centers correctly. However, then Chief scales/compresses the entire symbol to the width of the railing wall, which is what I was trying to avoid by modifying the bounding box. Is there a way to keep the custom bounding box based on the 10" shaft while also forcing the symbol to remain centered on the newel/railing centerline? Has anyone run into this with custom newel symbols? ADD-Easterling V2.zip
  6. Wound up using the walls. Worked perfectly. Thanks.
  7. Thanks. I had already tried both of these options . The wall didnt work as well. I will give it another shot though. Thanks all.
  8. Hello all.... What is the best approach to build the curved stair wall at the stairs?
  9. I have the same exact scenario in X18. Sounds like a good feature suggestion to Chief.
  10. Check youtube for videos as well. Not too long ago I was once in the exact same spot you are in..... I would keep auto roofs on until you finish your plan and then start adjusting roof as far as you an while keeping auto roof refresh turned on. Then edit the roof planes manually if it comes to that. Knowing where you are headed with the roof will help us advise you better. I like your mindset to just jump in. This is a great way to get started. At some point you may want to get some training to help get you past some hurdles. There are several on this platform that do that. They will teach you how to overcome and help you become more productive with the application.
  11. I played around with this and the tool does behave unlike what you would expect. Seems like the horizontal edge would snap to the angle snaps but it doesn't. Seems like a bug to me. My guess no one has ever to told chief about it. I have never run into it myself. Suggest reporting to tech support.
  12. I checked and it looks like its the same as what you are seeing.
  13. Create or copy a siding material, find a seemless siding texture that looks like that, then update the pattern to a hatch that is simlar. If you cant find a texture, you might be able to create one with an existing texture, load it up in photoshop or photopea(online editor).
  14. Can you be more specific on your question?
  15. Seems like the two go hand in hand. I found another workaround. So on a whim, in the plan file under print i looked at and turned on "Use 1 for all line weights. (Home Designer Compatibility)" and that fixed it, It seems that you need to have the scale in the plan close to or at what you are using on your layout for it to look right. At least that's what i experienced when playing around with the option. But i feel sure it just draws all lines the same which in my case is fine.
  16. From CA Support: After some further testing, it appears this is due to a potentially unintended change in how the Advanced Line Weight Scaling settings work in X18. In X17, your Layout's Advanced Line Weight Scaling is set to 1 = 1/200mm, while the plan file was set to 1 = 1/100mm, which is why the plan and layout line styles aren't matching in X17. It seems like some change in X18 altered how this works, and now things like regular CAD lines, doors, and other objects aren't being affected in the same way.I can go ahead and log this with our developers to take a look at.In the meantime, we may have some workarounds that might help. A quick and easy one would be to put the doorways on their own layer, then hide that layer, and draw your own CAD lines in their place, as we can't control the line style of open doorways directly.Alternatively, you can select the doorway, click Open Object, go to Options on the left, and click Hide Top Edge under Plan Display. Then, in your plan, turn on the layer Opening Header Lines. Now, you can assign a line style to this layer; however, be aware that this will add a line to all doors in your plan, not just empty doorways. You can control these lines further by going to the Edit menu, Preferences, click CAD on the left, and lower the value for the Endcap Printed Length to make sure these aren't overtaking the lines themselves, as you're printing at a pretty small scale.
  17. @Chrisb222 I tried what you suggested with starting with x18 template and it made no difference. Still the scaling of the dashed lines was off. One thing they mentioned in the tech reply is that you need to have the lineweight toggle on to see them how they will print. Also, I did verify that there is a difference between X18 and X17. I have sent that info to support. Hoping to get a solution soon.
  18. Here is a screenshot of a plan i started in X17 and finished in X18. You can clearly see the difference in linestyles from layout to layout. Box scales are the same at 1/8" = 1.75 feet.
  19. From Support.... This explains what's going on but doesn't fix the issue. Hi Shane,Thank you for contacting Chief Architect Support.The reason you're seeing a difference in your dashed line sizes in plan vs in layout is due to the difference in scale. In your plan view, go to the File menu, down to Print, and click Drawing Sheet Setup. You'll notice that your Drawing Sheet for the plan itself is at a scale of 1/4" = 1', which is the default in our templates. When you're sending your views to layout, the scale you use is 1/8" = 2'. If you change your Drawing Sheet Scale in your plan to match what you're sending your views to layout as, the line weights and scales of the line styles should appear to match.When doing this, make sure your Line Weights are toggled on; go to the View menu and click Line Weights, and you'll see the true appearance of the lines in plan and in layout.Let me know if this works for you.
  20. I looked at one of the plans that i did bring over from X17 and there is a huge difference in the scaling. The plan in question was not created in X17, but it did use a template migrated from X17. I am wondering if there is a new setting somewhere.
  21. I have put in a ticket as well. Thanks.
  22. Here is the Project, includes the layout. I am also having issues with the dashed lines over doorways. I don't see where that can be selected or controlled. I think I started this project in X18. https://www.dropbox.com/scl/fi/p8eveljbu4y7vl8ojgwrm/Fairhope.caproj?rlkey=1p2kwd0ovf5jb95qmest46zok&dl=0