General Notes In California

builtright3

This question is more for California Architects and Designers,

I have been doing drawing for several years and have always posted the general notes in the plan specific for the city I'm in. It has been so long since I have seen another set of plans besides my own. So my question is; is it typical to do it that way or do some go thru and combine notes so they work in every city?

Every city around these parts has their own set of requirements. There is no "one size fits all" possible. For example, the County of San Mateo requires cast iron waste lines; no plastic pipe is acceptable. Hillsborough requires metal electrical boxes and flex cable, no Romex. San Francisco requires EMT. How are you going to write generic notes with requirements like this?

Yea its kind of a passing thought to generalize my notes. It's one of those come and go I ideas. It's not hard to cut and paste the notes specific for each city into the library so I will continue going with the way I'm doing it.

Thank you for your input.

Every city around these parts has their own set of requirements. There is no "one size fits all" possible. For example, the County of San Mateo requires cast iron waste lines; no plastic pipe is acceptable. Hillsborough requires metal electrical boxes and flex cable, no Romex. San Francisco requires EMT. How are you going to write generic notes with requirements like this?

Yep,   I agree with Richard.   I wish each city would give us a list of their "boiler plate" requirements so we can slap those on the plans and everybody from plan checker,  the contractor,  sub contractors etc. can find them.

I have resorted to leaving all boiler plate notes off plans and letting the different cities plan check a list of notes and then I am labeling the requirements of such and such city to keep things straight.