Is there a way to "fix" a dimension so that Chief Architect does not change it?

RDfrankfort

Go to solution Solved by RDfrankfort,

I'm new at this and starting by putting in the lot for the house I want to design. Unfortunatley, its a five sided lot, a rectancle with a sort of triangle stickign out the left (west) side.

Here's the problem: I can create a five sided shape, I can put in dimensions, but everytime i cange one dimension it jigs the others to keep the shape intact. I want to fix the dimenions of all the rectangular parts, and then pull the side of the trianlge about to get the two sides of that triangle to the right length (with non-stanard angles as well). Is this possible?

Or am I going about this all wrong?

Thanks

RD

You may need to set your cad lines to not auto connect.  Not every survey will actually connect unless it was drawn out on paper and then spiked into the ground.  There are acceptable tolerances that are allowed and numbers often get rounded off so it does not actually work perfectly on paper/cad.

You can disconnect one Segment and break the Closed Polygon , which should stop the other sides moving

You can add angles to any plan under Defaults>Plan>Additional angles , so the Lines will "snap" to those angles as you rotate them.

You can also try the Line Input Method if you have a survey? :

https://www.chiefarchitect.com/support/article/KB-00575/creating-a-plot-plan.html

Mick

2 minutes ago, glennw said:

If all else fails you can select the dimension and on the Segments panel of the dbx, "Suppress Dimension Value" and enter some trailing or leading text for the dimension you want.

Ouch...   Lets try and do it correctly first please.   Just because surveyors do it that way is not an excuse.  They don't think anyone checks or uses their work for anything important.  What happens when you need an accurate measurement from a point that is not accurately placed ?

2 hours ago, RDfrankfort said: