Windows Look Like Crap!

iggybro

I've been using CA for several years now and several things frustrate the living heck out of me.  One of these things is the lack of control we have with windows.  The ability to create a window in CA so that it looks like it would in real life is a shame.  Has anybody else felt my frustration.  One would think, at the very least, that you could create a window that actually looks good in a perspective overview.  It is impossible to create a vinyl window with a painted or stained jam for example--maybe most of you just design rather than build, but I build what I design and being able to control the material of a window jam would be nice.  Don't you think?  My window frustration would somewhat go away if there was some ability to control the material of the interior frame separate from the material of the exterior frame.  Better yet, give us a "jam" option. Cant get a jam, so we are left with a frame because without a "frame" CA overlaps materials in a way that makes the materials shutter between the lumber material and the wall material.  Stupid!  Who has the money to buy a window with a frame--not my clients.  Come on CA--give us more control over our windows.  Maybe some of you CA gurus have figured out a work-around.  I'd love to hear what you do.

Scott, I think what he wants - and it makes sense - is to have a standard vinyl frame window (nail on variety) like the attached pics.post-47-0-09264200-1415886966_thumb.jpg post-47-0-96657800-1415887446_thumb.jpg It can be done with the dbx but it's a bit complicated to get all the settings right. Of course once it's done it can be made the default and saved in a template. It would be nice to have a check box that would do this type of window automatically.