Sign in to follow this  
builtright3

Old plan to new template

Recommended Posts

I have an old plan that I would like to insert into a new plan template I built. Can I get some recommendations of the best way to do that?

It would be very helpful and appreciated!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, solver said:

Edit Area

 

So then would I do "All On" layer set and edit-copy and paste into my new template?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The question is why do you want to put the old plan into your new template.  There are several options depending on what you want to accomplish.  One option is to export all the Defaults, Layersets, Annosets, Line Styles, Text Styles, etc from the Template and then Import them into the old plan.  That way, you won't lose any Sections, Elevations, CAD Details, etc.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So...it sounds like you want the new defaults to apply to the old plan?

If so, look at it the other way around.

Open the old plan, and then use Import Default Settings tool to import the selected defaults from your new template plan into the old plan.

Quote

One option is to export all the Defaults, Layersets, Annosets, Line Styles, Text Styles, etc from the Template and then Import them into the old plan

Doing it using Import Default Settings is way easier than exporting all the defaults and importing into the old plan.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, Joe_Carrick said:

The question is why do you want to put the old plan into your new template.  There are several options depending on what you want to accomplish.  One option is to export all the Defaults, Layersets, Annosets, Line Styles, Text Styles, etc from the Template and then Import them into the old plan.  That way, you won't lose any Sections, Elevations, CAD Details, etc.

 

I started from scratch in X11 and rebuilt all my defaults and setup my new "Plan Views" and also started to reconfigure my tool bar. I don't care about losing my sections, details and elevations from the plan, its mainly the structure (foundation, floor, walls and roof) that I want and the plot plan with all the property line and all of the setbacks.

I want to re-send the sections and floor plans to my new layout with my newly built "Plan Views"

 

2 hours ago, glennw said:

So...it sounds like you want the new defaults to apply to the old plan?

If so, look at it the other way around.

Open the old plan, and then use Import Default Settings tool to import the selected defaults from your new template plan into the old plan.

Doing it using Import Default Settings is way easier than exporting all the defaults and importing into the old plan.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
18 hours ago, solver said:

Edit Area

 

Eric,

Did you mean for this instruction of using "Edit Area" to be used as a copy and paste of the old plan to the new plan template? If so, what is the difference between using Edit Area and just using the copy/paste tool? Would it include more of the plan file?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, builtright3 said:

If so, what is the difference between using Edit Area and just using the copy/paste tool? Would it include more of the plan file?

 

You still use copy/paste but "Edit Area (All Floors)" captures more of the model than simple selecting, for editing, moving, deleting, copying, etc.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Chrisb222 said:

 

You still use copy/paste but "Edit Area (All Floors)" captures more of the model than simple selecting, for editing, moving, deleting, copying, etc.

 

Thank You for verifying my thought. This is a new tool for me. I read the help on it but I don't always do well with written instruction.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 3/8/2019 at 12:38 PM, Joe_Carrick said:

The question is why do you want to put the old plan into your new template.  There are several options depending on what you want to accomplish.  One option is to export all the Defaults, Layersets, Annosets, Line Styles, Text Styles, etc from the Template and then Import them into the old plan.  That way, you won't lose any Sections, Elevations, CAD Details, etc.

 

On 3/8/2019 at 2:51 PM, glennw said:

So...it sounds like you want the new defaults to apply to the old plan?

If so, look at it the other way around.

Open the old plan, and then use Import Default Settings tool to import the selected defaults from your new template plan into the old plan.

Doing it using Import Default Settings is way easier than exporting all the defaults and importing into the old plan.

 

Importing all my setting into the old plan was definitely the way to go.

Thank you both very much!

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

  • Member Statistics

    27448
    Total Members
    6254
    Most Online
    dan_heidel
    Newest Member
    dan_heidel
    Joined