Layer sets

capitaldesigns

I'm new to Chief, I'm using X-8.

I've set-up some layer sets and annotation sets for my plans. After setting up several layer sets for different parts of the plans such as floor plans, elevation, framing plans and foundation plan I noticed

there is no reset button. For example when I am working on the floor framing and locating beams and the direction of the floor joists I will turn on the plumbing fixture layer. I do this so I can make

sure I am not placing a beam right under the toilet or shower drain. I will also turn off layers temporarily if that layer is getting in the way at the moment.

I noticed that if I forget to turn on or off those layers when I change to another layer set, those on or off layers will now be saved as apart of that layer set.

I would be very helpful if there was a reset button that would turn on or off the layers, line colors and line types that was originally set-up in that layer set.

Is there a way to have Chief do this?

Thanks,

Mike

I've actually many many times thought that a reset button would be nice.  This would really be a good a good one for the suggestion forum.  In the meantime, consider using one or more of the following...

"Working" layer sets:  Layer sets that are set up specifically for drawing with and not for presentations.

"Trash" layer sets:  Layer sets you copy for temporary use.  You just need to go through and clean them up from time to time. 

All On and All Off Layer Sets:  I think these 2 layer sets may be heavily underappreciated.  They are super easy to fool around with and then reset by simply clicking Select All and then checking (or unchecking) Display.  I use these a lot.  They become even more useful if you get used to quickly manipulating them with the Layer Hider and with the ALDO (Active Layer Display Options).