ACADuser

Copy A Layout File, New Plan File

Recommended Posts

I have a project & need a copy of the layout file for alternate version.

So I copy the layout file and name it <House Name>B.layout

I copy the PLAN file to <House Name>B.plan.

Now I want the layout file to associate with the new plan file not the old file.

Do i have to delete ALL the views sent to layout and recreate all views from the new plan file?

Or is there some magic button? :)

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On the edit toolbar you can "re-link" the particular view, or there is also a more global option "tools/layout/reference plan files"....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Johnny is correct in that a copy of a layout merely copies it along with its innate associations so you must "reassociate" the views to the new plan file when it is ready to be so associated and the tool of choice is the "Re-Link" tool while the layout is open.

 

DJP

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

THANKS FELLAS, THE GLOBAL LINK OPTION DID THE TRICK.

Oops caps

 

OK this layout was used on another file I I can not delete the link from that original file.

The relink took care of the previous file but the original plan is still linked.

How to purge it?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It sounds like you might be missing a step. Did you use the tool Johnny suggested… Tools>Layout>Referenced Plan Files? All you should have to do is change the plan file.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes & that changed the plan in question to the correct plan. All views updated to the new plan.

In that dialog box I see another plan file I had used when I created this layout file originally.

I just reused the layout file as it had all the notes I needed but some how it is still attaching the original plan file.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OK I solved the issue. Found a CAD detail I created in the original plan (foundation detail) & sent to layout so it stayed with the layout file.

Deleting it after making a block & sending to library. The file detached.

Inserting the saved detail block and I am back in business.

 

 

Thanks All

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now

  • Member Statistics

    28031
    Total Members
    6254
    Most Online
    keldhaigh
    Newest Member
    keldhaigh
    Joined