jorgeb

TECHNICAL HELP (graphics card? ram?)

I was wondering if anyone in the forum can recommend what upgrades I can use to allow me to have Chief Architect run smoother. I am an interior design student and my PC does an 6/10 job when it comes to viewing spaces in 3D, especially when the space starts to become around 2,000 square feet. 

I currently am using an HP Pavilion All-in-One - 24-r114 PC. It has an Intel(R) Core (TM) i5-8400T CPU @ 1.70GHz - Installed RAM 12GB. Graphics Card Integrated Intel UHD Graphics & 2TB storage (around 1.7TB storage still available)

I am no tech-geek and have not upgraded anything on this pc. I really do not understand what RAM is or even the graphics card. Instead of purchasing a gaming-type PC to assist with the rendering, I am wondering what alternatives I have that may allow my all-in-one PC to run much smoother with large scale renderings. Thank you!

It looks to me like the CPU itself is most likely your bottleneck.  I really don’t think upgrading anything is going to do much good.  

Well, the one thing that MIGHT help would be to upgrade your hard drive to an SSD.  It’s not clear from your description though and you may already have an SSD installed.

You could also upgrade your video card 

Just now, Alaskan_Son said:

It looks to me like the CPU itself is your bottleneck.  I really don’t think upgrading anything is going to do any good.  Well, the one thing that MIGHT help would be to upgrade your hard drive to an SSD.  It’s not clear from your description though and you may already have an SSD installed.

I believe it's 2TB SSD. 

5 minutes ago, jorgeb said:

I believe it's 2TB SSD.