Draw Line Tab not going in direction I want

NectarDesign

I've been using Chief Architect Pro for a few years and all of a sudden when I draw a line in a direction, say straight up, then tab to put in its length, the line ends up in a totally different direction then where I dragged it. I recently switched to a new computer and also upgraded to x10, so there is a good chance I've lost a setting that was on an old program or my old computer. I just don't know where to start... probably something simple...

Thanks all,

Jennifer

Yes I have noticed that but not sent it in.  If you are not using the "Polar" option as is shown in Mick's post chief often does not highlight  the correct plane for direct entry.  X seems to be the default and Y does not register.  Is that what you are seeing ?

I think you may be correct that is used to work in previous versions.  If you can confirm that I would be glad to send it in.

I think your right Chopsaw, Here's a screen shot to help. When I draw a line, and then tab, I put in 20' for all the lines. If I placed the 20' into the Y coordinate it sometimes went in the  general direction I wanted, but wasn't a 20' line. I dimensioned them all so you could see.

Untitled-1.jpg

Ok I see that it is working for X and Y inputs.  However It looks like you should be using the Polar setting for inputting random angles. Otherwise you would need to set the X and Y coordinates of the new end point and not just the length at an established angle.

Does your setup highlight the Y value when you start to draw a line horizontally?

Yep... I swear I tried the polar option and it didn't work for me... but of course now it's working perfect. Thank you.

But to further your question, when I'm in the line draw function while drawing a line horizontally, it highlights the X coordinate first, then I just tab again to get the y coordinate input area

57 minutes ago, NectarDesign said: