Sign in to follow this  
davidtoth

Problem sending plan to layout

Recommended Posts

Every time I try to send a plan to a layout page I always get the last page (floor) repeated on all pages. I know there must be a setting somewhere I'm missing. Using X11

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you're sending to page "0", don't. Things sent to page "0" will be seen on every page.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am sending to appropriate pages. I'll send foundation to page 2, first floor to page 3 and when I send second floor to page 4 it will automatically send second floor to pages 2 and 3 . Very frustrating. Thanks for quick reply

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well David, to be honest, I would have to watch you sending these plan views to the layout using a new layout to see what's happening and how you're doing it. If you're using "plan views", that could be the issue but don't know. Feel free to call me at 832-754-6160 or maybe someone here can help on this forum.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I suspect that you are not sending "Saved Plan Views" which would be specific to each floor.  Another possibility is that you have the "Reference Floor" displayed.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From your description it sounds like you are sending views to layout that are linked to a Saved Plan View.  If you change anything associated with the Saved Plan View, such as the active layer set or the current floor, then this can affect your layout views.  If you send multiple views to layout all linked to the same Saved Plan View, then they will all update any time you change something.

 

Here are some ways to solve your problems:

 

    - You can stop using saved plan views by switching your Saved Plan View Control that appears in the default toolbar to "None".  You can also do this in your default template so that new plans won't start in a saved plan view.

 

   - If you are using X12, you can decide whether or not you want your layout box linked to a Saved Plan View in the Send to Layout dialog box.  Just make sure the "Link Saved Plan View (name)" box is unchecked when you are sending.

 

    - You can unlink a layout box from a saved plan view by opening the Layout Box Specification dialog and setting the Linked Saved Plan View combo box to "None".  There is also an edit toolbar button that will allow you to link or unlink a layout box from a saved plan view.

 

    - You can learn how to use Saved Plan Views.  If you use a different saved plan view for each layout view, you won't have to worry about accidentally changing them.  Saved Plan Views can greatly improve your productivity so that you can just switch views instead of having to change lots of settings all the time.

 

More information about Saved Plan Views can be found in the reference manual or in this video:

 

https://www.chiefarchitect.com/videos/watch/2421/saved-plan-views.html?playlist=100

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, tommy1 said:

If you're using "plan views", that could be the issue but don't know.

I meant to say "saved plan views".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you.. Im learning as I go .. watching the videos.  doing construction layouts for the first time.  certainly is a learning curve for sure  but t his forum has been so helpful over the past year or so.

 

Levina

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks to all for the replies I'll give these a try and let you know how I make out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

  • Member Statistics

    27855
    Total Members
    6254
    Most Online
    kfilipova
    Newest Member
    kfilipova
    Joined