mprovost129

Wood framed chimney on roof

Hi all. I'm fairly new to the software and have only been using it since October. I have a client who wants a wood framed chimney extruding from the middle of the roof up from the gas fireplace. I've tried a bunch of different options to make this work but can't figure it out. Can someone please tell me how to draw walls on top of the roof?

Thank you!

image.thumb.png.b9537053d1d1b5365afd7601c3e42b44.png

@dshall  Did a two part video on youtube about this.  He is awesome because he figures it out on the video for you showing you the mistakes of how not to do it in the program and they are very informative.  I just watched this one the other day.

Here is a link for part 1 

• Upvote 1

Read about Roof Cuts Wall At Bottom and Lower Wall Type When Split by Butting Roof.

I imagine the chimney framing extends down to the fireplace below, so the walls are not just sitting on the roof.

Think about the chase as a room -- set to Open Below on the 2nd floor.

OMG I was doing everything right. I just didn't have a hole in the roof. Thanks for the help!

Oh how I miss Scott's videos, you all should see the funniest video of all time, the waterfall video, Thanks Scott Hall for laughing and learning at the same time.

2 hours ago, DRAWZILLA said:

Oh how I miss Scott's videos, you all should see the funniest video of all time, the waterfall video, Thanks Scott Hall for laughing and learning at the same time.

So Where is this infamous video then???

@dshall

19 hours ago, rgardner said:

So Where is this infamous video then???

@dshall

It could be gone for good.  RIP

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in

Sign In Now

• Member Statistics

Total Members
    Most Online
    ValiantRyan
    Newest Member
    ValiantRyan

• By stevenyhof
      I have watched the video of ChiefSkills by Steve Nestor, "DORMERS - Auto and Manual Types"