Room Dimension Macro Question

Rosco2017

I've never used the macros before and thought I'd give it a try. I went to the "Text" tool and clicked on "Rich Text" after the specification box opened, I typed in "Study" and then inserted a macro under that by clicking "macro>global>room info>room dimension" it gives me the dimensions from drywall to drywall. Not stud to stud which is how I normally do it. Is there a way to have is give me the dimensions from stud to stud rather than drywall to drywall?

Hi Ross,

Currently there's really no easy way to do this.  The "Room" macros are hard coded in Chief and User macros don't work for Rooms except if directly placed in the Default Room Label.  In addition, the Room itself doesn't know what the wall materials are so calculating the exact dimensions to framing is not possible.

CA could provide additional "Room Macros" or they could provide a "Room" context for "User Macros" so that Text Boxes placed in a Room would know that the User Macros were to get the data from the Room.

I prefer the second option because it allows a lot more flexibility - but for your purposes the first would work.

......gives me the dimensions from drywall to drywall. Not stud to stud which is how I normally do it.......

If I had to choose either or,  the way it is set up makes more sense to me because my clients would get the actual clear dimensions.  But I hear your issue...  I,     like Joe do not know of a solution to get what you want.

Thank you both for taking the time to answer my question. I create all my labels manually. I watched a video on Macros and thought I'd give it a try. It doesn't bother me to create the labels manually because I've been doing it for years. I figured it could save me a step. Lol Thanks again!