nitesmare

How do you make a materials list (cut list or buy list) useable for a builder?

Materials list question.  I'm using CA9.  How do I make a materials list that shows what to actually buy? I've tried editing the structural member reporting to either the cut or the buy list but then when I populate the material list it only says for an interior wall that is 84 1/2 high that I need a count of 14.  14 what?  I need a list that says something like I need 14 2x4's.  How do I create that?

Whilst in the Materials List, click on the Display Options icon on the toolbar (a square with a red tick in it).

Go to the Columns panel.

Is Size checked?

Thanks guys for your replies.  I hadn't done the framing.  Just assumed that happened automatically.  I'm still new to CA.

So I did the framing and ran a new buy list.  Is there a way to control the sizes of material on the lists?  We want to limit it to only lengths under 16'.  Currently it has stuff like 2"x4" - 24 11/16' on it. 

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in

Sign In Now

• Member Statistics

Total Members
    Most Online
    CPDesigns
    Newest Member
    CPDesigns

• By robdyck
      Does anyone know how or where one could set different rebar options for different types of walls, or is the components tab the only place to do this? Example: I have retaining walls that require far more rebar than my default foundation walls. And unfortunately, one cannot copy a component AFAIK.
      Side question: is there a simple automatic way to get no. 4 rebar to report as 10M in a material list? And no. 5 as 15M etc.
    • By CHROMATICGA17