Shed to gable roof using auto rebuild roofs

Noremac

Hello there!

I'm new to chief as of a few weeks ago. I'm really loving how in-depth you can get with it. Hopefully this isn't to much of a newbie question that is easily answered somewhere else but I have seen anything on it. I'm trying to attach a shed roof to a gable. I have a feeling this is something similar to a porch roof, but after messing with it for a few hours I cant figure it out. 

This is what I'm go1947303910_FrontView.thumb.jpg.3452fc6b3a5b7115966bcac7f4fe3ca9.jpg

Side.thumb.jpg.7a384af55497c2a53bafc4a5a168fd32.jpg

Here is where I'm at. 95008122_view1.thumb.jpg.8be5157e43ae59be703f69dcd8629500.jpg

I've attached my plan if that helps!

I'm using x12 

Thanks!

-Cam

Piper_3rd Round 2_4_2021.plan

Hi Cam,

So I played with your plan file, and noted that you have some extra roof planes.  I deleted them, turned off auto roof rebuild, and changed the slope of the shed roof as Eric mentioned in his earlier post.  

I attached the revised file so that you can see what I did.  You may be able to apply these techniques to your project.

894942731_ShedRoofoverGarage.thumb.jpg.b3864b9def239a12f79e1b35f47c30b0.jpg

778952992_Piper_3rdRound2_4_2021 (1).plan

Edited by Doug_N
Revised the plan file to simplify main roof plan, added graphic illustration. I did this after Glenn's post where I noticed the problem in the main roof plane. Thanks Glenn

Cool! That's it!

I realize auto building roofs will probably only get you so far. So you just fixed the planes manually by manipulating the planes? I see the extra plane in the front area, and changing the one shed roof plane to a 3:12. I guess it just takes a little bit of practice and trail and error to get your planes the way you want them. 

Thanks! 

This is auto built - so turn on auto build roofs and split screen plan and 3D view so that you can see what is happening.

The trick is to use a double pitch for the shed roof.