jlcDesign

Stair Railings on top of a wall

Hey there, community.  I've been hacking my way through this situation for over 10 years, and have some ideas, but thought I'd see what you all think.  How do you set a railing on top of a wall?  Rather than over-explaining, just look at the pic.  That's exactly what I want to do.  I know there are probably 5 ways to pull it off, but it's just so time consuming.  Thanks!

12-12-2017 11-20-48 AM.jpg

Chief has yet to give us this ability in any reasonable fashion.  Much work-around required.  You can get close using a ramp instead of a wall but there are some down-sides to that approach (yet it may work for you).

Checkout this thread.

Thanks, Johhny.  I was going the route of convert to symbol, but using the ramp to get the right angle is pretty awesome.  Still a P.I. the A. but faster now :)

Glad you asked this question JLC...  my builder wants to make this SOP now on all his houses.  Here is another picture.  I will find Johnny's thread from April to get a better grasp.

stair railing wall.jpg

The ramp idea works very well.  It's just very time-consuming.  

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in

Sign In Now

• Member Statistics

Total Members
    Most Online
    slickrick1530
    Newest Member
    slickrick1530

• By MRMChief
      Happy Holidays everyone.

I have a plan where I have a few places I need an exterior wall above a roof section, but a railing, or in one case, no wall below.  Is there a way to do this in Chief Architect X11?  The one opening in my screen shot shows some exterior molding, but no wall.  On the one that has the railing below it, I tried the lower wall type if split by roof, but I couldn't get it to show as a wall above and a railing below.  It was either only a railing or all wall.

I am on a macbook pro..

Thanks,

Michael

• By MTL-Homes