Sign in to follow this  
olyconstruction

"Layout" Layer Sets Automatically Generating

Recommended Posts

Hi Chiefs,

 

I am not sure what is going on here. It seems that recently when I export a view to layout I get this message (attached) saying that the view now references the "Layout Set" in my plan. I never created this Layout Set, and CA is making a new copy of that set for every view I export (I think I am at Layout Set 7 now).

 

Does anyone know why this could be happening and what I can do to get it to stop?

 

Your help is greatly appreciated, so thank you!  :)

AB

post-4666-0-19582300-1477941512_thumb.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When you click Send To Layout there is an option to "Make Copy Of Active Layer Set". Uncheck that option. I personally like the feature but a lot of people don't.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I like it because my layout requirements are typically not very consistent from one to the next and neither are the views I send there. Create copy allows me to quickly and easily modify layer display on-the-fly on a view by view basis without having to keep track of how it will affect other views.

If I want a handful of views to use the same layer set it's easy enough to change the name of one of the copies and use that instead either when sending to layout or by simply switching the layer set of any given view.

I guess I just like the freedom. My style of drawing is just a lot more freestyle because my layout needs vary greatly from one job or task to the next. If you're making heavy use of the S.A.M. or a template method that re-uses both a plan and layout than Make Copy may not be quite as useful. I think it's real strengths come into play when creating layouts as you go...or maybe if you're using only the layout or only the plan as a template, but probably not both.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That is good to know, I will keep that in mind for future projects where I might need to independently edit a particular view.

Thanks for the help!

AB

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think Michael is the only one using this "feature"

 

back in ver 10 I had a client who was using it and it caused me no end of grief

 

mainly because I didn't even know about it - nor did the client

 

when I got the plan there were 20+ copies of everything

 

after working for some time and making changes I would find out that

those changes appeared in some views and not others

 

client starts hollering "I thought you made that change"

 

I'm hollering back "I did"

 

once I realized what was going on I got rid of all those "copies"

and have avoided them ever since

 

If you are still interested work with Michael to understand how they work, or ....

 

Lew

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

  • Member Statistics

    27469
    Total Members
    6254
    Most Online
    THDesign
    Newest Member
    THDesign
    Joined