Avinash_Chand

Stress Lines in Stucco Facade

Hello, 

I am new to chief. I was wondering how I can create joints on my stucco facade to simulate stress or relief lines like in the image below? I am trying to achieve a modern look for my house.

stucco-siding-panels-28-best-siding-for-the-outside-of-the-studio-images-on-pinterest.jpg

Did this quick with wall material region that was then copied- open region to see how it's set and open material "Opening no Material, copy"

Reveals in stucco.plan

Reveals.jpg

I use Wall Material Regions (cut surface layer) to create those joints.  It works best in Elevation Views 

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in

Sign In Now

• Member Statistics

Total Members
    Most Online
    Fishios
    Newest Member
    Fishios

• By ChiefArchitect
      Warm, sturdy, fire resistant materials common to a Tuscan home made this style an obvious choice for the Paradise Rises project. Stucco on the main house is accentuated with natural stone on the wrap-around porch and fireplace. Tile roofing is a bow on top.
    • By SNestor
      What's the best method for created exterior stucco walls that look like the attached.  The windows on the first floor are recessed back with arches over.  The second floor walls line up with the "thick" walls on the first floor.  

Do I need to use two distinct walls...butt one to the other.  Or could I use a single wall and do something with the window.  I've done some experimenting...but, haven't come up with a solution that works.  I would think the Chief users in Cali would have wall details like this all the time?  

Also...what's the best method to create the "lintel" shown on the elevation.  A moulding polyline maybe?  

Thanks...

• By DMDesigns
      Here is a few shots of (2) homes I did in Huntington Beach, CA. They call them, long and skinny's down here. Raytraces turned out pretty good, but the BMW, wow that turned out better then a real one.