Gable/Roof Line tool not covering an alcove

mpaska

Edit: I've confirmed this is a bug in X16, it's working fine in X15. I've created Support Ticket 133553.

I'm still learning. Following both https://cloud.chiefarchitect.com/1/pdf/documentation/chief-architect-x16-reference-manual.pdf (Page 861) and from 3:00 of this video: Using the Gable-Roof Line Tool - Video | Chief Architect I can't get the alcove tool to work in X16.

Using a default new/template, with zero changes, and drawing exterior walls roughly the same as the video above. I can't get it to cover the alcove. What am I doing wrong? Attached video of my attempt to close the alcove.

Screenshot.png

Gable Roof Line Tool.plan

Edited by mpaska
Added video & added ticket number

Just an FYI, I don't think many people would actually use a gable line in that corner situation.  I didn't even know that was a thing until I saw your post so I guess even old dogs can still learn new tricks.  Personally, I would either draw invisible walls or railings, especially if I was going to have a slab floor or I wanted some posts to support the roof.  You could also manually edit the roof in just a couple of steps to get that. 

Good for you on figuring out that it was a bug and reporting it though.

3 minutes ago, DBCooper said:

Just an FYI, I don't think many people would actually use a gable line in that corner situation.  I didn't even know that was a thing until I saw your post so I guess even old dogs can still learn new tricks.  Personally, I would either draw invisible walls or railings, especially if I was going to have a slab floor or I wanted some posts to support the roof.  You could also manually edit the roof in just a couple of steps to get that. 

Good for you on figuring out that it was a bug and reporting it though.