Wall Lock Constraint?

Emma04

I use Chief architect pro x14. Is there a way to lock wall length once done with imputing all your walls? Every time I try and use the room divider tool my wall always changes lengths; I thinks its just because of the angle I watched a video on how to fix it and was just wondering if there an option to lock your walls from the dimensions changing and not just being able to select them because of the active layer display . I'm new to Chief architect and when I used Revit it had a lock constraint next to the dimensions line, so I never had this problem before. Does Chief Architect not have this as a feature?

Edited by Emma04
  • Upvote 1

7 minutes ago, Emma04 said:

Is there a way to lock wall length once done editing the plan?

No.

7 minutes ago, Emma04 said:

Every time I try and use the room splitting tool my wall always changes lengths.

There is no "room splitting tool". Tell us what you are doing and exactly what's happening -- like which wall always changes length.

Suggest you work through the Tutorial linked via the Help Menu, and watch the hour long getting started videos on the Chief YouTube channel.

Once you learn how Chief works, and not expect it to work like other programs, you will have far fewer problems.

Emma:  don't hold your breath

I have been requesting various locks such as wall locks, room locks, floor locks, wing locks etc since 2006

once I have something "done" I don't want Chief moving it because of an action I take and there is a "ripple" effect

IF a lock is placed there should be a warning if Chief needs to make a change to the locked item

Chief programmers believe there is no need for locks and yet the subject arises time and again

Lew

• Upvote 2

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in

Sign In Now

• Member Statistics

Total Members
    Most Online
    healthcare
    Newest Member
    healthcare

• By jbur91