Inserting object from Library Browser freezes most of the app

TonyWed

I'm just starting out in Home Designer 2018 on Windows 10 (a new laptop with 16GB of memory and the latest video drivers.

The program works well until I try to use the Library Browser to add objects to the design. For example, with search, The first time I use the search is fine but after I add the object to my design and go to search for anything else, the library browser seems to freeze allowing no interaction (e.g. clicking anywhere does nothing) and outside of the Library Browser, in the main design panel, I see no pointer (though it sometimes returns after switching to other Windows apps). I can close the application and get prompted to save but I can't really work in this staccato fashion. The same thing happens when just browsing for the objects, it's OK for the first object but I can't select any more after adding to the design. Maybe the freeze only lasts a certain time but I did leave it for multiple tens of seconds before deciding it wasn't going to come back (it's impossible to work with that sort of a delay anyway.

I have seen one crash, I think that's when I left it for a much longer time and tried to get at other design functions without success. I'm not doing anything unusual, as far as I can tell, so this is quite annoying. If anyone has any ideas, I'd be very grateful.

If I try to close the Library Browser only during a freeze, it won't close but the second time I click the X on the Library Browser, I get prompted to save the design, as though I'd closed the design.

Hi Tony  ,

1st off you are actually on the Chief Architect Forum here ( green theme) you want to be on the Hometalk Forum ( Blue theme) for the Home Designer Products. You can use the same Username and Password Over there too .  Hometalk is here : https://hometalk.chiefarchitect.com/?_fromLogin=1