Need help with wall-to-roof intersection in 1.5 story home

I'm fighting chief here with the wall/ceiling/roof intersection of a 1.5 story room. I've got a nested gable and Chief just doesn't want to cooperate with me where the forward gable and attic wall of the rearward gable basically bisect this exterior wall.  A picture is worth a thousand words, so see the two below for clarification.

The problem I'm having is that when I drag the interior side of the wall up to meet the ceiling it pulls the exterior side of the wall above the roof plane.  If I drag the exterior of the wall down, it pulls the interior down away from the ceiling and leaves a gap in the wall (or if I pull it down too far chief tries to build an attic wall in the gap and screws everything up).  I tried to split the wall polyline, as you can see in the picture, but Chief seems to just ignore the split. 

Very frustrating and I'm not sure what to do here.  I'm not very experienced with building 1.5 story homes in this program.  I built the first two floors and then did all the roofs with manual planes. I'm working in v X9. Plan is attached. 

Wall fight 1.PNG

Wall fight 2.PNG

Wall Fight.zip

I lost track of all the small changes I made. 

Used a ceiling plane and a solid to patch the hole. Figured you would need the extra thickness in the roof for insulation. Don't know why the walls are not going to the ceiling. Might be that extra thick wall inside the main layer.

Tried to clean up some of the exterior walls just outside this area too. Added a porch so there would be a ceiling. Set some walls to Balloon Through, and some to Roof Cuts Wall at Bottom.

Post back with questions.

ct1.thumb.jpg.f7fc88d3449a4883bb27ef4b73c584bc.jpg

Thack-Cape2_02 (eric).zip

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in

Sign In Now
  • Member Statistics

Total Members
    Most Online
    IndiaCADWorks
    Newest Member
    IndiaCADWorks

• By Travis-Garcia