Why is plan so slow?

dshall

Hi  guys,  would you mind taking a look at this plan and see if it is acting slow to you. Edit a few walls,  delete them,  change lengths etc. The slowness is  unbearable and I am just getting started.

It will be a mini storage which consists of many many walls but not much else.

Thanks for your time.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/6sqov2mvhqkspn9/TEMESCAL%20WHY%20SO%20SLOW%201.plan?dl=0  

Hi Scott, Your plan is rather slow on my machine as well ( but not the slowest that I have dealt with ). I suppose walls in Chief are more complex than they appear to be. You would know the answer to this better than I so just a thought, what about trying a cad detail view? I tried taking the concrete fill out of you walls and no improvement. No bugs detected with Windows security essentials. Quite a mystery. My GPU handles the 3D well, just the floor plan is slow???

Scott,

This is just too many walls, doors, ceiling planes, etc for Chief to handle.  I would just show the perimeter walls and a couple of rooms (typical layout) then use simple CAD Rectangles to indicate the repeated nature of the project.

This is a typical process for documenting plans for hotels, hospitals, dormitories, etc.  You are only going to need to show the dimensions etc for a couple of typical units.

I would probably split this into 2 building Plans - one for the narrow building and one for the wider building.  Then I would show the end units and one of the interior units with a note that the interior unit is to be duplicated 'x' times.  KISS !!!!

And for the Site Plan I would place Symbols of those 2 buildings.