General Design Dilemma

blakel39

I need some advice.

My question is not related to Chief Architect Software at all but I am a user of CA since 2007.

I recently started working with a client that has me really scratching my head.............in their proposed remodel she is adamant about such things that as a professional I would never do!  Such things as locating a Powder room directly (and I mean directly) off of the dining/living room!  I've tried to explain to her that there arises privacy and ventilation issues............even with a mech. vent guest WILL hear and smell the occupant.  But she does not want to hear it!  Further she is also 'hell bent' on having the kitchen directly off of the living room where there is no exterior wall to locate a window for ventilation.  Again, I've tried to explain to her that the noise of a 600 cfm vent in the living room is unpleasant...........again, she won't budge!  There are at least 2 other issues that I care not to mention but I don't know what to do! 

I live in a small community and I am so afraid of someone visiting her refurbished dwelling and asking.............."who did your design?"  She mentioning me, and from then onI'm referred to as doing awful designs!

Is this a case of the client is always right or should I try finding some way of getting out of the contract without telling her that her design is something I don't want my name associated with?

Thanks

Unless you REALLY need the work, it sounds like you will be better off not taking this job. 

The other thing you could try if you do take the job is find some articles written by other design professionals that backup what you have tried to explain to this person. 

Some people are bull headed enough not to want to take common sense advice.  I have had some customers a little like that that eventually come full circle and finally see why I suggested a certain layout. 

No guarantees though ... good luck.