Help with roofing

BellaRena

Hello Everyone,

I am new here and would like to introduce myself. I am majoring in Arch super intrigued by it and on the mission to master CA as it seems the way to go for residential based projects. 

The issue I am facing is keeping roof planes uniform and making them act properly. I'm sure my situation is not complex to most of you and maybe a lack of general understanding on my part as the roof system has been tough for me to grasp and I am not giving up. Prior to coming on the forum I have watched countless hours of video and tutorials to try to understand how to make such changes within the program properly. I posted pictures and the original file showing the areas I would like help/understanding on (the roof over the garage, and when adding a railing to create a porch). Also some examples of what I am trying to achieve (possibly shelf roof for third car or the high gable connecting to top most roof line or not is fine). 

Thank you. 

Program: CA Premier X14

garage.jpg

issue.jpgporchh.thumb.jpg.8dac429f2528641c46ac85557ef44227.jpg

Screenshot 2023-01-17 122445.jpg

Screenshot 2023-01-17 122526.jpg

Screenshot 2023-01-17 140534.jpg

forum.plan

porch.jpg

44 minutes ago, GeneDavis said:

So what exactly is your problem?  You show us four different houses, and two screenshots of a 3D from a plan, the screenshots showing roof variation.

The two screenshots from the plan in 3D, the roofs are not lining up as I would like them too as the examples of the other 4 houses with the exception of 1 with a shed style that I also like. The peaks on one of the 3D screenshots without the porch are forming a valley and a hip over the main garage that is staggered (circled in red). The other screenshot in 3D shows the porch but its connecting not as I would like (doing the same problem as the screenshot circled in red and also the area the porch connects too. 

• 1 year later...

Keep up the good detective work.