Raytrace Questions

ChiefChris1

I am not new to Chief Architect.  I am, however, somewhat new to this forum.  I haven't been on ChiefTalk for a few years.

I used to do raytracing often when it was a POV Rendering engine.  But since the advent of the Chief engine, I haven't really done any.
I now have a few projects and new clients that are asking me for only models and raytracing....interior and exterior.

I am OK with exterior since it's basically just natural sunlight.

But interiors....

I don't want to have a raytrace process for an hour and then find out that it looks horrible.
I am looking for some basic settings that I can apply to do an interior raytrace relatively quickly that still looks good.

Thanks in advance.

I am using X6.

Chris,

I am no expert but here is what I find.

If a room has a window or windows putting in sun information and have it shine through the window

really adds to the appeal and general look.

If no windows turn up the interior ambient to close to 100 if not using photons.

If using photons it depends on how many lights and at what settings. Usually you

do not want very bright point lights but you do want higher settings for spot

lights and wit cut off angle near 120 or so/

X6 is much quicker than the other versions so you can do samples a lot easier than before.

As always the more lights the longer it takes. Turn off lights not in the scene.

I agree with Dennis but also I would point out that the internal render engine is very fast compared to Pov-Ray, you can watch it develop on your screen and cut it off when you have a decent render view. Most of my interior renders take about ten minutes each for very nice products. It takes some practice to adjust material and lighting properties but within a few minutes I can see whether I need to stop and make adjustments and then start a new render view using the ray-tracer.