nVisionTEKBIM

Stair Macro Imperial Units

Can anyone tell me how to show a stair macro with imperial units instead of the default decimals? I'm fairly new to macro's. I've searched the older posts on this subject but am confused with exactly how to use the long ruby formulas.

If anyone has any useful macro's already setup for stairs or other items, I'm open to purchasing them.

This uses a ruby routine located in a separate file in the Scripts folder.

You pass in the divisor and number to convert.

Returns an array containing the 3 values so they may be formatted as needed.

Everything in blue is Ruby code

Put the following in a file named ConvertToFeetInches.rb in the Scripts folder.

----------

#ConvertToFeetInches.rb

def ConvertToFeetInches (d, number)

divisor = 1/d.to_f

a = ((number/divisor).round*divisor).divmod(12)

# r[0] = feet
    # r[1] = inches
    # r[2] = fraction

r = Array.new(3, "0")

r[0] = a[0].to_s

r[1] = a[1].floor.to_s

if a[1].modulo(1) == 0
        r[2] = ""
    else
        r[2] = "#{a[1].modulo(1).rationalize}"
    end

return r

end

--------------

The following shows how it's used

--------------

require "ConvertToFeetInches.rb"

r = ConvertToFeetInches(16,length)

# this line formats the output and will probably need to be changed.

# given a divisor of 16 and a value to convert of 123.456, this will return 10' 3-7/16"

r[0] + "' " +  r[1] + "-" + r[2] + '"'

That is way above what I know how to handle at the moment, but thanks. I don't know exactly where to write the script. I think I'd rather buy macro's already made to save my time.

I'm really surprised Chief doesn't have macro's available with the SSA library. The stairs should show you the relevant information for permit drawings without the user having to be a scripting whiz.

2 hours ago, nVisionTEKBIM said:

I don't know exactly where to write the script.