nVisionTEKBIM

Sign Contract Prior to Consultation?

Hi all,

I'm wondering if any of you with your own businesses require your potential clients to sign a basic contract prior to a site visit or consultation? 

I have someone that is refusing to pay my invoice I just sent for meeting to discuss their project with them at their house. Prior to meeting in person, they viewed my electronic estimate / proposal (based on their design sketches) which had my service rates attached, which showed that I charge hourly + service fee for site visits and consultations. The person never signed the contract, which is fine since I'm not doing the job, but they feel because they didn't sign for the "entire job", that they don't have to pay me for my time meeting with them.

The invoice is only like $150, and I can let it go as a learning experience if they don't end up paying me. I have a Bachelors degree in Construction Management and have some construction management experience, so I have a general understanding of contract & construction law. Should I make all potential clients sign a contract just to meet and survey the project, even before I have the estimate/proposal for the actual project? Usually I meet to discuss their design and do measurements of the house getting remodeled, then prepare an accurate estimate/proposal with a contract for them to sign.

I think you are going to be out $150. As they did not sign the proposal then nothing outlined in the proposal is valid. I believe if you are going to charge for a site visit & consultation then you need to make sure they know that this is not a freebie. A confirmed e-mail should be good enough for that and then if both parties agree to work together then you can have them sign your main project proposal/agreement.

Better is to have a charge for an initial consultation which is paid before you visit the site. I'd write this particular session off as an "educational expense."

• Upvote 1