View Titles Automatic? New CA User

nVisionTEKBIM

Hi everyone, I'm new to CA as of about 2 weeks. I'm an expert Revit user and decided that CA is much better for residential, so am slowly learning it until I can switch software platforms.

Anyways, I can't seem to find anywhere how to have view titles be automatic based on the view that's on the sheet / layout. In Revit the title is attached to the view and you can modify the view title to show the info you want. In CA, I believe that would be some kind of macro. I see macros for plan titles, but not for view titles. 

Is it possible to have a custom view title with scale and bubble? Hopefully we don't have to use text.

Also, I'm trying to develop a working template in CA. My Revit template is perfect so if possible I'd like to copy/paste info in to match as much as I can. Any tips on that are helpful as well.

I use the %layout.title% macro in layout and then enter that information in the Layout Page Information DBX for automatic display on the layout page.  It is not a true link but for use in a template you should be able to work with it.  It also keeps the Project Browser organized by displaying the same information there.

Not sure if copy and paste will work but you should not have any issues transferring in a .dwg format .

Sections and Elevations can be done with a camera call out almost automatically.  You can make it look good but chief is still a little lacking in automation in this regard.   Requests have been made and we are hoping for some of the items to be implemented in X11.

For now I use the Automatic Text Below Line feature of the camera and then fill out the Camera in Layout and use the %layout.label% macro in a call out in layout so it matches the plan view call out.

There are lots of ways to do this.  Personally I use a CAD Block with the text macro %view_name% in the Plan or Section/Elevation view.  I name the view in the Project Browser.