Making 1St Floor Flush Inside Foundation

bksalaska

Go to solution Solved by BuilderLFD,

Technical support suggested that my problem would be best handled as a forum question. I am trying to establish the 1st floor joists flush with my foundation. I have two attachments, one the 3d cross section of my rendered house with the framing specification dialog box showing offsets I used to accomplish thispost-3202-0-32606000-1426116120_thumb.jpgpost-3202-0-51117300-1426116187_thumb.jpg. Unfortunately the program still shows a blank space where joists would normally sit. The second attachment is a CAD foundation diagram of CA's “Foundation Hung From Sill Plate” which is exactly what I am trying to do. Any suggestions. This is my first attempt at a post and is probably a little wordy

You have to frame the floor structure to see it, or you have that layer turned off in that camera view or section view. You also need to set it up for that foundation type. Post your plan for the truth of what's going on.

also what version are you using, makes a big difference.

• Solution

You're going about it wrong.  In your framing specification, you have set your floor joist at 11-1/2" below your floor.  Your floor level is 0, so with 3/4" plywood, the floor joist should be -3/4", not -11.5" as shown.  In order to accomplish what you are trying to do, leave your framing alone, and the let CA do its magic. 

All you need to do is:

1. go to your foundation plan,
  2. select the concrete wall where you want the joists hung,
  3. Open up the wall dialog box 
  4. Select the structure tab for that wall
  5. Under "Platform Intersections" check the box "Hang floor platform above on wall"

Remember, your floor is always zero, so when you changed the floor joist to -11 1/2", the floor stayed at zero, and your joists dropped down.  Hence the gap.  Follow the method I outlined, and your concrete wall goes up with the joists hung as shown in your cross section.

Hope this helps

BuilderLFD,